Tweet tweet

I opened a Twitter account, against my better judgment but the zeitgeist got the better of me. I don’t think I’ll ever be tempted to tell the world that I’m now eating yogurt (as Doonesbury‘s Roland Burton Hedley Jr. did in yesterday’s comics) or share my knowledge of Taco Bell’s soft drink offerings – as Missouri’s Junior Senator apparently did, according to the New York Times Magazine. But it is interesting, to a point, to learn that a good friend just enjoyed a bike-ride or that Star Trek’s Wesley Crusher is living and tweeting in Kansas.  Only to a point. I expect I’ll tweet merely to publicize  thoughts of more than 140 characters, and direct interested friends & readers to this venue or my day-blog.  The best tweets are coming through my open window, as birdsong announces another dawn.

The Times piece makes a good point: the last thing our politics and cultural life need is encouragement to be even more superficial and slap-dash.  Senator McCaskill: enough about tacos already!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

