The journey itself’s the thing

Then again, sometimes the best-laid plans are bested by circumstance.

My appointment with Carl Safina had to be re-scheduled, S decided to comandeer my Lazy Point (what I’m now calling the pool-hammock-glider zone out back) for an office party. I was to be elsewhere.

Younger Daughter took care of some of that, first summoning the Dad cab for a ride to the Pet Resort (Angel needed a makeover, apparently) and then to basketball camp. A couple more small errands, and then (why not?) McKay’s.

I still had a $20 credit in my wallet from the last time. It’s down to $4 now, and my summer reading stack is way up. Abbey’s Monkey Wrench Gang and Desert Solitaire, Abbott’s FlatlandLerner’s America as a Civilization, Ford’s American Short Story, a symphonic recording of baseball classics called Play Ball (including James Earl Jones’ rendition of “Casey at the Bat”)… and the big prize:

“The soul of a journey is liberty, perfect liberty, to think, feel, do just as one pleases. We go a journey chiefly to be free of all impediments and of all inconveniences; to leave ourselves behind, much more to get rid of others.”  Wm Hazlitt

“In these divine pleasures permitted to me of walks in the June night under the moon and stars, I can put my life as a fact before me and stand aloof from its honor and shame.” Emerson

“Afoot and light-hearted I take to the open road, Healthy, free, the world before me, The long brown path before me leading me wherever I choose.” Whitman

“The longest journey begins with a single step, not with a turn of the ignition key. That’s the best thing about walking, the journey itself. It doesn’t much matter if you get where you’re going or not. You’ll get there anyway.” Edward Abbey

And that’s just from the jacket. A meander off the designated trail is perfectly in keeping with the Lazy Point mentality, a well-placed monkey wrench along my way. John McDermott always says “the nectar’s in the journey,” too. I’m getting there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

