Russell’s delight

More walkers of note: Erasmus, Hobbes, Montaigne, Jefferson, Kierkegaard, Bentham, Darwin, Twain, Russell, Einstein…

Some walking quotes of note:

  • “Walking is the best medicine.” Hippocrates
  • “Walking is the best possible exercise.” Jefferson
  • “My mind only works with my legs.” Rousseau
  • “If I could not walk far and fast, I think I should just explode and perish.” Dickens
  • “Walking is good to time the movement of the tongue by, and keep the blood and the brain stirred up and active.” Twain
  • “All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.” Nietzsche
  • “I delight in long free walks. These free my brain and serve my body.” Emerson
  • “It was easier to think if I was walking and doing something or seeing people doing something that they understood.” Hemingway
  • “You know you’re alive. You take huge steps, trying to feel the planet’s roundness arc between your feet.” Dillard
  • “I used, when I was younger, to take my holidays walking. I would cover twenty-five miles a day, and when the evening came I had no need of anything to keep me from boredom, since the delight of sitting amply sufficed.” Russell

Like  Russell I’m hooked on morning rambles. “Every morning Bertie would go for an hour’s walk by himself, composing and thinking out his work for that day. He would then come back and write for the rest of the morning, smoothly, easily and without a single correction…”

I’m already clocking an hour a morning. Now, to master the rest of that routine!

Bertie lived to 98. I choose to see a connection.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

