A new metaphor

Sometimes, particularly in summer, I surprise myself at the end of a walk by deciding, impulsively and unpremeditatively, to just do something I’ve been putting off forever.

Yesterday morning I strolled home and suddenly decided to just clean out that unnavigable overstuffed “potting shed.” Told myself it would take just a few minutes. Of course, it ended up taking hours. And of course, yesterday was the first really summery day we’ve had here. It hit 90 before I was through. (And oh how good the pool felt, at last!)

Removed a large, mostly empty large wooden crate my Dad gave me many years ago (after confiscating it from a negligent renter). I used to keep dogfood in it, lately it’s been home to spiders and empty space.

Also removed that large platform I got from I don’t recall where, that I imagined I’d someday repurpose as a daybed for my Little House.

Now they’re both down the hill in the dog barn, to gather new coats of dust and house the next generations of spiders.

Threw away a ton of forgotten stuff, including a few broken pots. Younger Daughter’s moldy old Hannah Montana purse, and her doll stroller. Kept the little red wagon.

And a light bulb came on: the rapacious rabbits won’t eat elevated potted petunias, will they?

So now I have a “clean” shed and a fresh planting project. “A fresh seed sewn on the ground of the discussion,” Wittgenstein might have said.

And a new metaphor. Gretchen Rubin says projects are better than journeys. I like both.

==

Postscript, 6.13.13-

My new Project. Move over @michaelpollan. (Thanks for the inspiration @gretchenrubin!) pic.twitter.com/AKwDuoD6t7

 Project
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “A new metaphor”

  1. deanhall11 Says:

    I think you just may have found happiness. A newly finished cleaning and de-hording project has few rivals.

  2. osopher Says:

    Right: cleaning out the cobwebs, clearing the detritus of shed/mind/life… but the greatest happiness awaits: that barn, and that garage. I’d love to share the happiness!

Leave a Reply

