“Life is change”

Our first Lifelong Learning Happiness class yesterday was great fun, over in the Ingram Building across the street that used to be a Baptist church before the university bought it. The amusing irony is not lost on me, that I’m preaching happiness in a place I had to leave, to find our subject and my calling. Big change.

I had plenty of room to roam, with my mobile mic in the former sanctuary, as we introduced our topic and ourselves. It was quite a change from my usual classroom situation, to be in the presence of so many “mature” learners (not decades younger than I) who got all my dated references, laughed at my bad jokes, and weren’t at all reticient to speak up and say what they’d learned over a lifetime.

One of the points they seemed to concur with: happy people aren’t afraid to make a change. Gretchen Rubin, for instance, whose ongoing Happiness Project (not to be confused with Project Happiness, also dedicated to positive change) is happening because she found life in the legal fast lane insufficiently gratifying. She acknowledged the necessity of change.

Chris Phillips also comes to mind. He left a lucrative advertizing career to launch Socrates Cafe.

And then there’s Matthieu Ricard, the molecular biologist who left France for Tibet, became the Dalai Lama’s French translator and “the happiest man in the world.” We’ll talk about him next week. Can’t wait.

6 am/5:53/7:34, 55/69/49

via Blogger http://ift.tt/26ORIgR

Tags: ,

2 Responses to ““Life is change””

  1. Janine McLaughlin Says:

    I recently purchased Gretchen Rubin’s book, “The Happiness Project” and much to my delight I was already implementing some of her suggestions. I get more sleep and wake up without an alarm, I exrcise regularly in various ways, from crossfit to yoga, I am decluttering my home, (garage sale at my place May 13), I spend time with people who really matter to me, I fight less and have developed more compassion for others and list goes on. I am one of those “mature” adults taking the May course on Happiness and look forward to next week. Janine M

  2. osopher Says:

    Fantastic! It all comes down to being flexible and open to change, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

