Starry socks

 The socks tell the tale, with Younger Daughter’s latest gift addition to my collection of stellar hosiery. Sock it to me?

I’ll own it. I am a “big space nerd” (I prefer enthusiast) and have turned my wife into one too. We’ve been binge-watching Apple TV’s “For All Mankind,” with its alternative history premise that the Soviets got to the moon first. 

Commander Poole was just a few words into her soliloquy last night (Season 2,episode 9) when I cottoned  to its source: Star Trek, the original series. Season 1, episode 23. Kirk’s concession, we’re killers “but we’re not going to kill today.” I was watching the first time, back in ’66. The message still seems right. Lots of humanoids still need to hear it.

 
The show has been awfully kind to Ronald Reagan, so far at least, making him out to be more the peace-loving statesman than I think real history will allow. But he had his good days, as actors will.

via Blogger https://ift.tt/QCbGkz8

Tags: ,

Leave a comment