best idea ever

best idea ever

“If I were to give an award for the single best idea anyone has ever had, I’d give it to Darwin, ahead of Newton and Einstein and everyone else. In a single stroke, the idea of evolution by natural selection unifies the realm of life, meaning, and purpose with the realm of space and time, cause and effect, mechanism and physical law.” Daniel Dennett, Darwin’s Dangerous Idea

If I were to give an award for the best single explication in book form of why Darwin’s idea is not ultimately dangerous, but liberating, I’d give it to Dennett’s book. Loyal Rue’s Everybody’s Story is a close second. But the funniest and most humane attempt to both defend evolution and understand its detractors was Trials of the Monkey by Darwin’s own lineal descendant Matthew Chapman.

And if I were to give an award for the single best documentary film about Darwin and evolution anyone has ever produced, I’d give it to PBS for Evolution:

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “best idea ever”

  1. how to lose weight easily Says:

    A person essentially help to make significantly posts I might state.

    This is the very first time I frequented your website page and up
    to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual
    post extraordinary. Fantastic process!

  2. sims 4 windows 7 Says:

    You really make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be really one thing which I believe I might never understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and very broad for me.
    I’m having a look forward on your subsequent publish, I will attempt to
    get the hang of it!

  3. Party Rentals Says:

    Dear customer,

    Thank you for your reading. We are Festival Tent & Party Rentals.

    Do you want to know more about our company?

    1. Plan your wedding event
    2. Plan your corporate event
    3. Plan your outdoor event

    If you are interested in Rentals for any occasion choose Festival Tent & Party Rentals!

Leave a comment